Happy New Year!

Intentions are funny.

I started this blog with a blast of inspiration and a host of good intentions.

Forgive me; it’s been 3 months since my last submission.

I intend to do many things.

I intend to get more exercise, to eat better, to drink less wine and drink more water.

I intend to learn a new language, to become a better cook, to be a more compassionate and a more spiritual person.

Yup. Intentions.

Looking back over the year I can plainly see that I have made no great progress with any of those intentions.

I exercise sporadically, and usually only the day before I need to fit into something that ‘shrunk in the dryer’. I eat better most of the time (unless there are potato chips). I drink less coffee, but not more water, and probably not less wine.

I can still say the same 5 things in Spanish that I could say at the beginning of the year (Por Favor; Gracias; ¿Dónde está el cuarto de baño?; Una Cervesa por favor; and Hola). I have not become a better cook and I don’t believe I have become more compassionate or more spiritual.

All of this makes me wonder why I’m not content to be who I am.

I like to think that many people are like me. We get caught up in a desire to become more. But more is elusive, hard work, and maybe not even better.

So this year, I will not resolve – for the whole year. I’m not adding more intentions to my list of failed intentions. There will be no new goals to add to my list of abandoned goals, and no new dreams of a shiny new me that will replace the tarnished old me.

Instead, I’m just going to try to like myself a little more. Just the way I am.

Crap. Is that a resolution?

Happy New Year!

About Sunny NH

I'm a realistic optimist and I work hard to practice gratitude every day. Life's too short to be cranky, pissed off or mean.
This entry was posted in achievement, diet, exercise, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Andrea says:

    No I think that is more like a mission statement than a resolution!

Leave a Reply

