In celebration of Volunteers

I am one of those lucky people you hear about who absolutely loves their job.

I work for a non-profit organization with a mission that I believe in. We have a tremendous force of volunteers who do all the heavy lifting. They inspire me to work harder and smarter, and they are the reason I do what I do.

In a nutshell, my job is to provide support to those volunteers. Did I mention that they inspire me?

Our volunteers have day jobs. They put in 40 or more hours a week earning a living, and then they spend their nights, weekends and holidays working with my organization. They create, raise money, do outreach and recruit other volunteers. For many of them, it is a labor of love. And it shows.

Every day I see the difference that a volunteer can make in the life of another person. Every day I see the difference that volunteering can make on the volunteer. Everybody wins.

This week, give some thought to becoming a volunteer. Even an hour a week can make a big difference to a cause you believe in. Find something you are passionate about. Broaden your horizons and share your skills or your time. You won’t regret it.

About Sunny NH

I'm a realistic optimist and I work hard to practice gratitude every day. Life's too short to be cranky, pissed off or mean.
This entry was posted in achievement, gratitude, Volunteer. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In celebration of Volunteers

  1. Great post, so pleased to hear that you enjoy your job. I volunteer for GirlGuiding Uk a couple of evening a week and also as a first aider and trainer for the red cross. It can take up a lot of time but it’s rewarding. So many volunteer groups are flexible now too so you can do an hour or two here and there.

  2. Ellie says:

    I’m not going to crow about my volunteer service, instead, I’m going to point out how great my parent helpers are. They make my job easier in little but important ways. That is such a gift!

Leave a Reply

