Practicing Gratitude

The resort my husband and I visited last week was ‘all inclusive’. A part of what was included was dinner and breakfast. Sounds like a great deal, right? The tiny catch is that for those meals, you are seated with random other couples. It’s a nice way to meet other people, but for someone as shy as I am, it can be a little intimidating.

One morning at breakfast a gentleman we were seated with quietly took a moment and bowed his head. He didn’t make a big deal about it, he didn’t look at the rest of us at the table like we each had 3 heads. He just took a moment.

I’m having trouble getting that moment out of my head.

Grace has never been a part of my mealtime ritual. It’s not that I’m ungrateful. I’m very grateful for all the blessings I have in my life – food included. I just never take the time to formally recognize them, and call them out as they occur.

I have noticed that the more time I spend Practicing Gratitude, the more happy and content I am as a person.

So this week, my goal is to try to take a moment to be thankful for the things I usually don’t notice.

Somehow, that seems so very obvious.

What will you do to be happier this week?

About Sunny NH

I'm a realistic optimist and I work hard to practice gratitude every day. Life's too short to be cranky, pissed off or mean.
This entry was posted in gratitude, spirituality, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Practicing Gratitude

  1. Susie says:

    A beautiful reminder to be grateful for what we all have.
    What will I do to make this week happier?
    I too, will stop magnifying what is wrong and instead turn my gaze to all the things that are right!

Leave a Reply

