Six Hours

My husband and I celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary Thursday, and tomorrow we are driving back to the place where we spent our honeymoon. I am excited about the vacation, but apprehensive about the travel.

It’s a SIX hour drive.

I love my husband very much. He is one of my best friends. He makes me laugh. Generally speaking, he’s an excellent husband…

and, I might be the world’s worst passenger. I hit my imaginary brake. I check the mirrors before we change lanes, and as much as I try not to, I say “watch out” at least once during every trip…

and my husband might not be the world’s best driver (don’t tell him I said that!).

To be fair, I think many of the things my hubby does while driving that annoy me are deliberate, and intended to bug me. That’s the way his sense of humor works.

So, the sudden acceleration or braking when I’m taking a sip of coffee isn’t really poor skills, it’s my wonderful partner, amusing himself. Ha Ha.

If the driving stuff wasn’t bad enough, Hubby has satellite radio in his truck and a love of jam music and people yammering on the radio about sports.

Ugh.

I am bringing my iPod. And my headphones.

I might just sing along to music that only I can hear.

That’s only fair, right?

If we survive the drive, we’ll have 3 days of pampering. We’ll eat like royalty. We’ll relax, we’ll swim. We’ll people watch and we’ll re-charge.

And then we’ll drive another SIX hours to get home.

Wish us luck!

About Sunny NH

I'm a realistic optimist and I work hard to practice gratitude every day. Life's too short to be cranky, pissed off or mean.
This entry was posted in achievement, family, music, schedule. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Hours

  1. ellie says:

    It would seem like six hours of torture would make a three day pampering all the more enjoyable. Happy Day!

  2. D.Rene. says:

    Good for you and Congratulations! I hope me and my Mr. make it 10 years but I can guarantee you that if we took a 6 hour road trip, we couldn’t make it a month. I HATE driving anywhere beyond a couple of hours.

    Enjoy your time together!

Leave a Reply

